TV Review: Orange is the New Black

Orange is the New Black

Reviewed by Kevin O’Bedlam

Image

Jenji Kohan is a marvelous writer. Say what you’d like about the last three seasons of weeds but I’ve watched every show she’s put out multiple times over and have not regretted a second of it. So when I heard about Orange is the New Black, I immediately fired up Netflix and gave it a spin. It starts slow, almost like, oh gosh, it’s a chick show. Which it is. That’s fine, I’m not shallow, I just live on a completely other planet and don’t understand ‘warm fuzzy feelings’ all that well (Which again, is fine, my fiance doesn’t understand my obsession with The Dresden Files so it’s a fair trade off.)
Anyways, like I said, I’m not shallow, so I kept watching. The show has a unique mix of actors. Captain Janeway plays a crazy Russian prison cook, Jason Biggs plays the biggest pushover in existance, and Donna from That 70s Show plays *ahem* a glasses wearing money-smuggling lesbian. Like I said, I’m not shallow or anything and saw past that.

The writing on this show is phenomenal, you can really tell that  they spent a great deal of time hashing out each character’s unique motivations and backgrounds, and the way they play off of each other is fantastic, leaving you with an organic, almost real, picture of what’s happening to Piper Chapman.
Jenji Kohan is fantastic for that. Much like Nancy Botwyn, Piper Chapman (the main character) is believable, flawed, and the furthest thing from a mary sue you could imagine. In fact, towards the end of the show, I began to mentally side against her.
Unfortunately, every episode was released at once, so if you have any willpower, try not to watch them all at once- it’s a show to be savored.

Orange is the New Black gets 5/5 Undropped Bars of Soap

Leave a Reply

