Review: Star Wars X-Wing Miniatures Game

Star Wars X-Wing Miniatures Game

(Fantasy Flight Games)

Reviewed by Kevin O’Bedlam

Image

Some weekends I am determined not to leave the house, and this weekend was no exception. When I have those weekends, I like to pick a new game up from the store to play with my fiance when I’m busy not painting miniatures. I saw X-Wing on the shelf and it made me briefly pine for the days of Mage Knight and Heroclix. Now, X-Wing isn’t a collectable game like those two, but it is a pre-painted simple miniatures game geared towards both the hardcore and the newbies.

So I expected I’d spend a few hours reading the rules and maybe coax my fiance into playing a game with me. Then in true The Hangover fashion, I blinked and it was 2am sunday night. My kitchen table was covered in all means of Star Wars ships and terrain and I was grinding my teeth because my Millennium Falcon had just made a little too wide a turn and flown right off the table.

Needless to say, this game is fantastic. It’s got enough diversity in just the starter box (1 X-Wing, 2 Tie Fighters) to give it plenty of playability, however I recommend picking up a couple more ships when you buy the box. The dice set is worth picking up to, because sometimes 3 attack dice isn’t enough (as my fiance’s TIE advanced well knows) and it’s a pain to pass them back and forth.

The game plays almost like a video game. Each ship comes with a little dial, which you use to secretly select your maneuver. You place the little dial next to your ship and your opponent does the same. Then you flip the dials over in order and use the rulers provided with the kit to execute the maneuvers on the dial. Your ship then does an action (locking on target/doing a barrel roll/etc) and shoots.

Image

That’s just about it. There are a few scenarios included to give you an idea how to set up your own scenarios. The game is simple enough to learn in 20 minutes but complex enough to give even the most seasoned wargamers a thrill.

Out of all the positives, there are a few negatives. There’s no ‘3D’ space in this game, it’s all on the same plane. I understand that they did this for sake of simplicity, however. There aren’t that many ship options (I think there are around 10, 5 for each faction), but Fantasy Flight is working on that at the moment, and lastly I’m not so sure all the ships are to scale. The Millennium Falcon and the Slave I are both huge compared to a normal ship. This opinion of mine has led to many heated discussions in the store, so maybe one of you Wookies out there can clear up this argument.

This game gets 5 Regurgitated Mandalorian Bounty Hunters out of 5!

2 thoughts on “Review: Star Wars X-Wing Miniatures Game

  1. They do actually have the 3D of space in the game sorta. By making it where a ship can’t block an attacker if it is inbetween the ship firing and the on being fired at. Kinda weak, but it’s there. Also all the ships are to scale at 1/270. FFG made it a point to contact LucasFilms and get all the measurements from them to make the scaled down minis. With wave 3 both factions will have 6 ships each…with more coming. Great review overall.

Leave a Reply

